Business & Finance

CMMC vs. DFARS: Differences and What You Should Know

Since years, the CMMC vs. DFARS debate is raging. There’s no clear winner. Each model has its pros and cons and can make it difficult to choose the right one for you.

This article will explain the differences between CMMC & DFARS and assist you in deciding which model suits you best.

CMMC and DFARSHere are some key differences


There are a few important differences between CMMC and DFARS when it comes to the CMMC vs. DFARS controversy. The first is that CMMC can be used to certify individuals, while DFARS requires them to comply with certain regulations.

If you are interested in becoming CMMC certified you will have to pass the certification process. Regardless of your certification, compliance with DFARS regulations is required if you are subject to it.


Another difference between CMMC and DFARS is the focus on cybersecurity. DFARS, however, covers a wide range of topics related with defense contracting. The CMMC certificate is best if you are looking for cybersecurity certifications.

However, DFARS requires that you meet all requirements.


CMMC offers a flexible certification program that is more flexible than DFARS. This is because CMMC gives you the flexibility to select which certification level you desire, depending upon your specific needs.

DFARS requires that you comply with every requirement, regardless of your level.

Beacon of Requirements and Needs

Which model would be best for you? The decision is ultimately up to you and your needs. CMMC certification is the best option if you are looking for a voluntary certification specifically covering cybersecurity. Regardless of your certification, you are subject to DFARS and must follow the regulations.